Central PA's LGBT News Source

Us indian tribes

Where same-sex marriage is legal


There are 566 U.S. Indian tribes and they are not covered by the June 26, 2015, U.S. Supreme Court ruling that legalized same-sex marriage nationwide.

At least 20 tribes, listed below, have legalized same-sex marriage to date. A number of others follow the marriage law of the state in which they are located, meaning same-sex marriage is legal within the tribe without any additional tribal action.

• Coquille Indian Tribe in Oregon (2009)

• Mashantucket (Western) Pequot Tribal Nation in Connecticut (2010)

• Suquamish Tribe in Washington (2011)

• Port Gamble S'Klallam Tribe in Washington (2012)

• Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians in Michigan (2013)

• Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation in Washington (2013)

• Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Indians in Michigan (2013)

• Iipay Nation of Santa Ysabel in California (2013)

• Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes in Oklahoma (2013)

• Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe in Minnesota (2013)

• Puyallup Tribe of Indians in Washington (2014)

• Eastern Shoshone Tribe and Northern Arapaho Tribe in Wyoming (2014)

• Tlingit and Haida Indian Tribes in Alaska (2015)

• Oneida Tribe in Wisconsin (2015)

• Keweenaw Bay Indian Community in Michigan (2015)

• Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians in Oregon (2015)

• Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde in Oregon (2015)

• Oglala Sioux Tribe in South Dakota (2016)

• Cherokee Nation in Oklahoma (2016)

• Osage Nation in Oklahoma (2017)